top of page

Chasing A Win at Texas, Track of Close Finishes, Racey Drivers, and a Great Sound Track!

PPG 375 Sunday, April 2, 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES

Texas Motor Speedway is proud to once again host the NTT INDYCAR SERIES in 2023. The April 2 race, the first in a multi-year partnership with INDYCAR, will be the 27th consecutive year, and 36th race overall, that the country’s best open-wheel racing will compete side-by-side at more than 200 mph on the 1.5-mile oval.

This year's race starts with some solid competition after last year's brazen finish by Josef Newgarden, who whisked the victory away from champion Scott McLaughlin.

"This oval track annually produces some of the most exciting racing of the season, contributes to the diversity of the schedule and helps us continue the oval heritage of Indy car racing. It’s good to know that Texas will remain a mainstay of the Verizon IndyCar Series for years to come," NTT said in a press release about the Texas Motor Speedway.

Simon Pagenaud says he is "chasing a win" on Sunday in the Lone Star state after a regretful first race of the season. Pagenaud was involved in the shocking opening season smash-up at the March ST. Pete Race:

Indy Star reported on the French driver in Feb, touching on the rivalry between Pagenaud and last year's Texas race winner, Newgarden:

"Pagenaud is bringing the fire back. The IndyCar veteran, fresh off his second consecutive win at the Rolex 24 with Meyer Shank Racing and in search of similar success with the team’s IndyCar arm, feels he has more freedom in Year 2 at MSR to be himself.

On-track means a return to the fiery red helmet he wore during his early IndyCar days – before his 2016 IndyCar title and 2019 Indianapolis 500 victory with Team Penske. Off-track, he’s speaking his mind a bit more – or perhaps choosing to push a few more buttons publicly – when it comes to his ex-teammate Josef Newgarden"


“Texas Motor Speedway is the second home of Indy car racing, and we are thrilled to extend our partnership with the Verizon IndyCar Series and with DXC Technology,” said Eddie Gossage, president of Texas Motor Speedway.

Texas Motor Speedway has earned the reputation for producing tight, exciting racing, with four of the nine closest finishes in Indy car history occurring at the track. When Graham Rahal won the 2016 Texas race by 0.008 of a second over James Hinchcliffe, it was the narrowest margin of victory at TMS and the fifth closest on any Indy car track throughout history.

In 2002 the last lap Sam Hornish Jr. beat Castroneves by .0096 seconds. That margin of victory was and remains the closest finish in Texas Motor Speedway history.

So many great moments in this sport have occurred at Texas Motor Speedway. Photo finishes and victory lane drama have been the standard over the years.

“No other track has seen as many Verizon IndyCar Series races over the last two-plus decades.As a result, Texas Motor Speedway has been good for Indy car racing and Indy car racing has been good for Texas Motor Speedway," NTT said in a press release.

Callum Ilott is fired up for the race!

Eric Smith reported for Race Review Online a Texas winner, Scott Dixon, Six-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion (2003, 2008, 2013, 2015, 2018, 2020). 2008 Indianapolis 500 winner.

who spoke to the press on Tuesday.

"Scott Dixon has been here before. Sunday’s PPG 375 (12 p.m. ET, NBC, INDYCAR Radio Network) will mark Dixon’s 25th career NTT INDYCAR SERIES start at the Texas Motor Speedway. In what will be the most starters here (28) since 2011, any sort of advantage is worth capitalizing on.

No one has as many starts here than the Chip Ganassi Racing driver. Ed Carpenter is next best. He has 22. Helio Castroneves has 21. Will Power and Graham Rahal each have 16 starts here respectively. Takuma Sato (14), Josef Newgarden (12) and Simon Pagenaud (12) are the only ones in double digits."

Here is a fan pic of the 2016 race:

Texas has an of again-off again- but awesome tradition of the 6 shooter pistol celebration. The opening photo is of Pato OWard on his 2021 Texas victory:

It's own soundtrack:

2021 winner had a lot of fun:

2022 winner had a lot of fun as we covered here:

And make sure to follow Patriot Sports Now. Last week we talked about Indy Car.. and the importance of our sports traditions in general, and I have to correct myself about the Milk at the Indy 500 tradition.. I told the crew it started in the 1950s!!

Oh my how did I mess up my own Sports traditions like that! Race on Race fans!

Milk Tradition started in 1936- count on us at Patriot Sports Now to bring you the real news!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page